Boogie Da God – “For da Streets” (Prod. 4oTo Roles)

By: Shamus Hill

Boogie Da God is back on our pages today, this time with a finely-calibrated release titled “For da Streets”. Utilizing some poised 4oTo Roles production, Boogie excels on this track — shining a light onto some of what he’s endured throughout the last year.

A critical portion of Boogie Da God’s discography revolves around the reality of his everyday life. Feeling conflicted about the phony shit he witnesses regularly, Boogie’s on a mission to make sure that only the real remain.

“Had to refresh my whole life, see this the new beginning // these n*ggas started shifting on me, now they time is ticking”

Boogie Da God – “For da Streets”

Boogie Da God is more than fed up with the fact that people are sleeping on him, however, he’s found himself in the position to really turn some heads in 2019. Labeling this release as a “new beginning” for him, this Boston artist puts his star-power on full display. Boogie Da God thoroughly encapsulates the energy of Boston’s core-neighborhoods, and is someone that you need to keep on your radar this year.

Listen to “For da Streets” below:

Boogie Da God – “Hood N***a” [Prod. Trillo]

By: Seamus Fay

Boston has a plethora of talented musicians, sure. But, let’s get one thing straight before we start this write-up; Boogie Da God is one of Roxbury’s most talented and simultaneously most slept on artists, period. Song after song, project after project, I don’t think I can honestly say that I’ve ever heard a bad song from Boogie, and with the way things are looking, I don’t think I ever will. That being said, this rising artist is here today to unleash his latest, Trillo-produced single, “Hood N***a”.

And let me be the first to tell you, the streak is most definitely continued with this song. In this illustrative display of the charisma that led us to fall in love with his music in the first place, Boogie takes to a brass-led, soulful instrumental to rattle out bar after bar of the life that he lives in the hood. Both lyrically and sonically, we get to see the Roxbury representative in his sweet spot, and with the extensive catalog of solid, solid music that Boogie Da God has built up, it’s truly only a matter of time until he’s receiving both the local and national recognition that he deserves.

Listen to “Hood N***a” at the link below:

The Top 50 New England Songs of 2017

By: Seamus Fay

Looking back, 2017 was a year of immense growth for New England and specifically Massachusetts’ budding music scene. We were fortunate enough to see the rise of many new talents as well as watch some of the more established artists prosper in their own ways, and frankly, it was inspiring to us to see the work that the artists, the producers, the photographers, the graphic designers, the mixers, the managers, etc. have been putting in. Without all of these people playing their respective roles, our scene wouldn’t be where it is today.

Having said that, we here at Graduation Music collaborated with Fresh Out The Mint to compile a list of the “Top 50 New England Songs of 2017” (in our humble opinion). Below is the playlist of all the tracks – enjoy!

Thank you sincerely to everyone for supporting us throughout 2017 and making our first full year as a blog a successful one. We greatly appreciate all the love and can’t wait to show you what we have in store for 2018.  

  • Young Seuss – “123”
  • Big Leano – “Broke” [Prod. Tee-WaTT]
  • Vintage Lee – “Bless You” [Prod. Jew Paidro]
  • Millyz – “Lessons” [Prod. Achillies]
  • VALLEY – “Atari” [Prod. Stoop Kid]
  • Caliph & Jefe Replay – “The Mood” [Prod. Obeatz]
  • MyCompiledThoughts – “Romeo and Juliet”
  • Cousin Stizz – “Lambo”
  • DJ Lucas – “Doubt”
  • Lonny X – “Believe It” [Prod. Gravez]
  • Juxi – “Leave Me Alone” [Prod. Banbwoi]
  • Jiggz – “Excuses” [Prod. digitLIX]
  • KREW$ – “Dog Days” [Prod. DMND]
  • RAMS – “Disease!” [Prod. Maka]
  • Rothstein – “Jaded” ft. Supa Bwe [Prod. Shepard]
  • Patrick Michel – “Perfect” [Prod. GrandCruu]
  • Alejandro Blanco – “Give It To Her” [Prod. TFresh & SSB]
  • Jefe Replay – “Stay Ugly” [Prod. Humbeats]
  • Mizzie Cash – “Maneuvering” [Prod. Rob $urreal]
  • Lord Felix – “Power” ft. Marvelous Stefan [Prod. LoLoTheGod]
  • Plad Fine$$e – “Cheese” [Prod. 4oTo Roles]
  • Maye Star – “Adjacent” ft. CH!LD [Prod. Sevnth]
  • WHYTRI – “XURWIFI (Remix) ft. Lily Rayne [Prod. Cecil]
  • Stripes iii – “Henny Down” [Prod. K.C.B.]
  • Khary – “1-800-IDGAF” [Prod. Cloud Atrium]
  • SuperSmashBroz – “Replay Interlude” ft. Jefe Replay [Prod. LDG]
  • Michael Christmas – “Not The Only One” ft. Tobi Lou [Prod. Durkin]
  • $ean Wire – “Moonlight” [Prod. Tropicana Bwoy]
  • Pistola – “Jokes On You” [Prod. Stoop Kid]
  • CAVE – “Who’s Next” [Prod. Maka]
  • Maka & Durkin – “Waterworld”
  • Gio Dee – “Buzz Lightyear” [Prod. MLVN]
  • Humbeats – “Monday” ft. Austin Fair & TeaMarrr
  • StupidGenius – “Palm Trees” ft. Capito [Prod. Lil Rich & Gruca]
  • Garrett Merk – “Simple” [Prod. Frace]
  • Danny Diamonds – “Can’t Talk”
  • Gogo – “Cocaina”
  • Polo $ummers – “$ad Boi” [Prod. WaVe GoD]
  • SuperSmashBroz – “Still” ft. Big Leano & Vintage Lee [Prod. Tee-WaTT]
  • Haasan Barclay – “Live For You”
  • CHE – “Thii”
  • Avenue – “Ain’t Shit Funny” (Remix) ft. Prano, Millyz, Le$, Al-Doe & Chase N Cashe
  • Donald Grunge – “Shade” [Prod. Maka]
  • Boogie Da God – “Get Well Soon” ft. Jefe Replay
  • Marvelous Stefan – “Double Tap!” ft. Saint Lyor [Prod. Trevor Powers]
  • Black EL – “Another Dose” [Prod. Durkin]
  • $wooli – “Rainy Days” ft. Rachel Aiello
  • Rosewood Bape – “Miss Me” [Prod. Kin Rich]
  • TeaMarrr – “The One” [Prod. Ky Thompson & Keith Bell]
  • Michael Christmas – “Top Turnbuckle” ft. OG Swaggerdick

Boogie Da God – ‘It’s Been Real’ [EP]

By: Seamus Fay

If you’ve been following Graduation Music for a while now, you probably know of our well-documented love for Roxbury artist Boogie Da God. His old-school touch and carefully crafted lyricism never cease to impress, and with an incredible ear for finding the right production to excel over, the wave he’s running right now is unmatched in its soulful energy. Today Boogie is back on our pages with his latest offering, the It’s Been Real EP.

6 tracks in total, the hypnotic production on this one gives way to an unbelievably entertaining listen with credits from fellow local artists Stripes III, Jefe Replay, Brandon James, 4oToRoles, and SenecaBeats. Not only does Boogie float over each instrumental with an effortless style that has proven to be one of the best in its lane, but each feature goes just as hard, displaying a seamless chemistry that makes this nostalgic release near-flawless in every nature. I can’t say I’ve heard anything I even remotely dislike from Boogie Da God before, and he’s definitely not starting now with the standout EP to front his journey to the top. Give It’s Been Real a listen below and enjoy the soulful approach to music that the Roxbury native takes.